My Walgreen’s Trip: 77% Savings w/Transaction Scenarios

Walgreen’s Shopping Trip

Trans 1

  1. 2 Cottonelle 12pk TP, $10

Coupons:

  • 2 printable $.50/1 Cottonelle
  • May Coupon book $1/1 = $2 off

Total OOP = $7: RR = $3

Trans 2

  1. Head & Shoulders Shampoo, 2/$8
  2. Head & Shoulders Conditioner
  3. EEz Thru Flossers, $2

Coupons:

  • B1G1 Free Head & Shoulders 4/17 insert
  • $3 RR from Trans 1

Total OOP = $3: 2 RR = $4

Trans 3

  1. Gillette Fusion Razor, $9.89
  2. 2 Stoffer’s single serve Lasagna, 2/$5

Coupons:

  • Gillette Fusion Razor $5/1 P&G Brand Saver
  • $4 RR from Trans 2

Total OOP = $5.89: 2 RR = $6

Trans 4

  1. EEz Thru Flossers, $2
  2. Pantene Shampoo, 2/$7
  3. Pantene Conditioner
  4. 2 Lysol Wipes, $3.59 (B1G1 free)

Coupons:

  • $3/2 Pantene Shampoo and Conditioner P&G 5/1 insert
  • 2 $1.50/1 Lysol Wipes printable coupon
  • $6 RR from trans 3

Total OOP = $0.59!!: 2 RR = $3

Trans 5

  1. Gillette Fusion Razor, $9.89
  2. 2 Hot Pockets, 2/$5

Coupons:

  • Gillette Fusion $4/1 P&G 5/1 insert
  • $3 RR from Trans 4

Total OOP = $8.87: 2 RR = $6

Trans 6

  1. 8×10 photo collage (pre-ordered online: Read how to get one HERE ), FREE (filler)
  2. Bic Soleil Bella 3pk razors, $5.99
  3. Head & Shoulders Shampoo, 2/$8
  4. Head & Shoulders Conditioner

Coupons:

  • B1G1 Free Head & Shoulders 4/17 insert
  • $3/1 Bic Soleil Facebook printable
  • $6 RR from trans 5

Total OOP = $0.99!!: 2 RR = $4

Trans 7

This transaction was only made because I wanted to buy trash bags from the dollar store but at the end of the day I had $4 in RR’s and only change left in my truck so this was an excellent way to end my transactions.

  • Tuff trash bags, $3.99
  • Easter candy @ 75% off, $0.24 (filler)

Coupons:

  • $4 RR from Trans 6

Total OOP = $0.23!!: No RR

All prices were listed before taxes (I spent about $5 altogether on taxes). I did Trans 1 & 2 on Wed. and 3-7 today by hitting the cosmetics counter twice, front register once, photo counter once, and a different Walgreen’s; in that order. Always remember to have only 1 manufacturer coupon per item, read the fine print of the coupon to see if it will attach to 1 or both to decide if you need a filler. Walgreen’s produced monthly coupon books, specialty coupon books, and ad coupons do not count as used coupons.

Total OOP = $26.34 for all 7 transactions!

Total Savings = $87.70 That’s 77% savings! Woohoo!!

Before I started using coupons I would have taken that same $26 and picked up generic toilet paper, shampoo and conditioner, trash bags, and the frozen foods. Those are things I would have bought without even looking at the prices. Now I spend that on name brands that I want plus so much more that I would have had to eventually buy anyway, although, they would have been generic as well! This was my best trip so far and I didn’t have any issues with my coupons. I even stood close to the front to sort out my transactions and had 2 cashiers and a manager ask to check me out. Good job, Walgreen’s. This is why I LOVE WAGS!

About CharityAnn

I'm a small town, stay at home mom living on a shoestring budget. I spend my time working as a ChaCha guide from home, searching out internet coupons and deals, and entering sweepstakes for fun prizes we couldn't normally afford. Through ChaCha, coupons, deals, and sweepstakes I have found a way to continue staying home with my kids while still affording the things we want. I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, but I hope to share my finds with local readers so that we may all enjoy what our small town has to offer without paying big city prices.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Shopping Scenarios, Show and Tell and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment