CVS Gas Card Promotion Details for Lawton Area

This post takes the form of a rant which you may find familiar if you have tried to use CVS at all here in the Lawton area. You can find the gas card info (and why it’s not the best option here in Lawton) in the last paragraph if you wish to skip over the rant.

I’ve been to CVS one time, many months ago, to pick up a free bottle of hand soap thanks to a Beauty Club printable coupon and I have to say that I wasn’t very impressed with the service I received.  If we have an issue with certain cashiers, practices, or empty shelves at Walgreen’s during our coupon adventures at least there are options. Sadly, this is not the case with CVS. Not if you can’t (or won’t) drive crazy distances to score a great deal.

Since I was making a trip to CVS anyway for my free hand soap I thought I should take advantage of some of their sales and gathered a few additional coupons to see what I could find. Instead of great deals, I found that the shelves were poorly stocked and the cashier was uninformed (or at least unfriendly and uncooperative, which is worse, in my opinion). I couldn’t find any of the deals I had hoped for and the one I did find beeped at the register. I was still new in my coupon adventures (they can truly be adventures some days) so I didn’t want to push something I didn’t understand myself but it would have been nice for the cashier to help talk me through why it didn’t work rather than just flat-out saying ‘This won’t work.’ while tossing the coupon back in my direction. I tried to be polite, I tried to ask questions, but all I managed to produce were snarky replies about coupons, the extra work they involve, and the ‘type’ of people who use them. The only good thing that came from the trip (besides my free hand soap) was the desire to work harder at learning coupons (and a better store to use as my coupon conundrum guinea pig). Walgreen’s worked out so much better for me in the end and I’m happy with the fact that I can do 7 transactions in one day at 3 different stores without a single beeping coupon. But, that doesn’t mean I still haven’t eyed the CVS ads wishing there were a way to include them in my weekly shopping trips.

Last week I found a way (or at least a reason). The Huggies sales have been great lately but money has been tight so I have to time my trips wisely and try not to break the bank while still managing to get enough items stockpiled to last until the next sale. Timing is everything with coupons and the week that Walgreen’s was having their great Huggies sale, we were having major vehicle issues so I had no choice but to go after the CVS sale the following week.

I loved that the Huggies diapers were included in the gas card deal and I figured that it was good that I had to skip the Walgreen’s sale because when I spent at CVS I would make back a few extra bucks for gas. This was not the case. The gas card offered at CVS is actually for Shell gas stations which we don’t have in the Lawton area. Fortunately, this time, I had a great cashier who had transferred from a CVS in The City and she was more than a little helpful when it came to my questions and coupons. When I first made it to the register I asked her how the gas card would work and she said ‘Let’s ring this up to make sure you get the gas card.’ I got a little antsy right off the bat, worried that this trip would be a repeat of the last but once she began talking about coupon deals she rang up before and other personal things (I’m from OKC so we had A LOT to talk about!) she started to tell me that it’s a good thing I have family to visit in The City since that’s the place I would need to use my gas card. That’s a great idea in theory but really I’m not using gas IN The City to GET TO The City so I wondered about options.

That’s when the extremely helpful cashier told me that in a town such as Lawton (without local Shell gas stations) we can ask to redeem it as a CVS gift card instead. Woohoo!

So, there is a way to use the Gas Card deal without having the right local gas station to redeem the gift card. You can always use the Shell gift card if you’re traveling outside of the Lawton area. OKC has a Shell station just before you enter/leave city limits on I-44 or use it at the Shell in Burkburnett, TX if you’re traveling south. If the gas card isn’t the right option for you, get the CVS gift card option. I went for this option myself and now have a $10 CVS gift card tucked away in my coupon binder waiting for the next great sale. I would have loved to have the $10 in gas but, as an option, I don’t mind the CVS gift card at all. I will be back to CVS, thanks to their helpful employee for being one of the friendliest cashiers I have encountered during any of my coupon adventures.

About CharityAnn

I'm a small town, stay at home mom living on a shoestring budget. I spend my time working as a ChaCha guide from home, searching out internet coupons and deals, and entering sweepstakes for fun prizes we couldn't normally afford. Through ChaCha, coupons, deals, and sweepstakes I have found a way to continue staying home with my kids while still affording the things we want. I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, but I hope to share my finds with local readers so that we may all enjoy what our small town has to offer without paying big city prices.

Posted on August 25, 2011, in Tips for Newbie Couponers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

