Learning More about What it Takes to Coupon

Check out We Use Coupons Virtual Classes under the Beginners Tab

Over the last two weeks I’ve come across several articles that warn consumers about the dangers of Extreme Couponing. I’m sure you’ve heard of or maybe even seen the show (I still have yet to see a single episode to date) and wonder how you can get massive savings EVERY time you shop. I’m no expert, I still have much to learn when it comes to coupons but I can tell you that trying to ‘Extreme Coupon’ with every shopping trip is hard work and Extremely Exhausting!

After a month of Extreme Couponing I found that I had no time for anything else. Between sorting coupons, making lists, and doing the actual shopping, there wasn’t even time left to clean house or make homemade dinners. I also had issues keeping enough gas in my vehicle to handle multiple shopping trips. So I had to step back and assess the situation and find ways to get my time (and sanity) back without losing the savings I had already become accustomed to seeing. So now, I like to shop in a way that I’ve started referring to as Reality Couponing. The truth is that couponing can be an effective tool for saving money but not if it poses additional issues for you and your household.

I know that long articles can be annoying and often go unread so I don’t want to bog you down with each and every way I’ve changed my couponing habits in one post. Instead, I’m going to break this down into a series of posts that will offer tips and tricks on how you can continue couponing in a way that makes it a hobby rather than a full-time job. It will take a little extra time to learn in the beginning but once you’ve found your groove you’re golden. 85%+ savings is amazing but requires a lot of time and effort. 55% savings is what I benchmark now and I’m happy with that because it only takes me a few hours each WEEK to obtain rather than a few hours each DAY!

Until I get the series rolling I want to send you all to We Use Coupons which has a great section filled with articles on just about anything you could ever wonder about coupons. You can find their ‘Virtual Classes’ under the Beginners Tab and these articles help with starting out, organization, finding coupons, and then matching coupons to sales, plus so much more. There are tips for Beginners, Intermediates, and even Advanced Couponers so you should be able to find new advice no matter what level of couponing you enjoy. There’s nothing saying Extreme Couponing can’t be done. The show portrays that it can! But, only you know your limits and what you are willing to do to save a buck (or thousands).

Check out We Use Coupons Virtual Classes under the Beginners Tab

We Use Coupons is a forum based site where you can go to get your coupon questions answered in a timely manner. They also have a section for matchups on virtually any store so be sure to take a look around while you’re there. If you lose track of this post you can always find them by clicking on their logo here on the right hand side of my blog.

About CharityAnn

I'm a small town, stay at home mom living on a shoestring budget. I spend my time working as a ChaCha guide from home, searching out internet coupons and deals, and entering sweepstakes for fun prizes we couldn't normally afford. Through ChaCha, coupons, deals, and sweepstakes I have found a way to continue staying home with my kids while still affording the things we want. I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, but I hope to share my finds with local readers so that we may all enjoy what our small town has to offer without paying big city prices.

Posted on July 9, 2011, in Tips for Newbie Couponers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

