Walgreen’s May Coupon book is out and how to use these books

The coupon book for May is available now at Walgreen’s. You can find these near the register with their weekly ads and they usually have plenty so be sure to pick one up for your coupon binder.

I thought I would take a moment to share how to use these books along with any other coupon books you find at Walgreen’s for Beauty, Childrens, Diabetes or many others.

When I first started couponing I would take the time to cut these out and give them over to the cashier and I noticed that they would stick them UNDER the register. Some even throw them away. Then another sale would come around and I would have to hope to find a new book (those that are available periodically…the monthly ones at the register always have plenty). I was fortunate enough to be told by a cashier that they only need to scan these coupons, not save them, so put one set in your binder and just reuse it for any coupons you need throughout the available month.

It seems like such a little thing that some may already have known but as I was new to Walgreen’s I never even knew about these coupon books until I started using coupons, much less that they were reusable over and over. This is why you should always remember to only pick up ONE of any of the specialty coupon books and try to leave some for others. The cosmetics cashier at Walgreen’s had once told me a lady came in and took 20 of them and she didn’t understand that since they could be reused.

So if you’ve been clipping these coupons, stop! You’re only wasting time on a coupon that will be thrown away. Just have it open and ready to scan at the END of your transaction, once all other coupons have been used. This is another trick to help keep some coupons from beeping if these end up bringing the price down to free. The register doesn’t like free items for some reason and finding a cashier to adjust coupons can sometimes be a pain so this helps a little in keeping the ‘beeping coupons’ quiet.


About CharityAnn

I'm a small town, stay at home mom living on a shoestring budget. I spend my time working as a ChaCha guide from home, searching out internet coupons and deals, and entering sweepstakes for fun prizes we couldn't normally afford. Through ChaCha, coupons, deals, and sweepstakes I have found a way to continue staying home with my kids while still affording the things we want. I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, but I hope to share my finds with local readers so that we may all enjoy what our small town has to offer without paying big city prices.

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Tips for Newbie Couponers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

