My 3 store shopping trip on less than $5

So, I had a $2 and $3 Register Reward to use at Walgreen’s and I wanted to try out those Colgate Wisps on sale $2.49 B1G1 Free with my $0.50 off coupons but I also needed some Purex Crystals, TP, and I really didn’t want to pass up the Scott’s paper towel deal, so I planned out my trip and worked some other RR’s so that I could get everything I needed with only $5 cash budgeted to my shopping scenarios. Well, I say needed but really this was a trip for experience. The only thing I needed were the Purex Crystals (we fell in love with the smell, no matter the price, and don’t have a Target nearby) and TP, on top of other budgeted items and I LOVE how I got all of the below for LESS than I would’ve spent on the 2 things I needed!

At Walgreen’s I did 2 transactions

Trans #1
Colgate MaxFresh 2.99
Used $2 RR
$0.99 OOP before tax
$3 RR printed (Better than free!)(normally $3.29)

Trans #2
Purex Crystals 3.99 (got my Purex!)
Use $1 off Purex Crystals Facebook printable coupon
2 Colgate Wisps 2.49 B1G1 Free
Use 2 Colgate Wisp $0.50 off (3/27 insert)
Scott’s Natural Paper Towel 6pk $5
Use $1 off Walgreen’s coupon (April Savings book)
Use $1.50 off printable coupon
2 Wet n’ Wild nail polish $0.69 each (filler)
Use 2 $3 RR (Our Walgreens doesn’t count Wags Q’s in Q total, yay)
$2.36 OOP before tax (normally $18.95 without sales)

So then I went to WalMart hoping to get a few deals but only found one besides the water and soda I went after to begin with. I’m getting pretty stocked up on nail polish. 🙂

NYC Color Nail Polish $0.98
NYC Color Eyeliner $0.98
Use $1.50 off 2 NYC Color Products printable
$0.46 OOP before tax (normally $1.96)

I also won a little sweepstakes I entered a while back and the prize was a $10 gift card for Family Dollar. This is why I love those little quick entry sweeps that have lots of little prizes. Those gift cards can be combined with coupons for maximum savings. Check out Sweeties Sweeps for an extensive list of these sweeps.

2 Colgate Spongebob toothbrushes $2 each
Use 2 Colgate $1 off coupons (3/27 insert)
I’m thinking perfect Easter basket stuffer w/ all that candy
2 Renuzit Cones $1 each
Use 2 Renuzit $1 off printable coupon
Kleenex Tissues $1.80
Use $1 off Kleenex coupon (Sweeps prize, exp too soon to wait)
Angel Soft Toilet Paper $2.50 (got my TP!)
Cotton Swabs $1
Toys $3
$9.30 pre-tax (normally $14.30)
$10 gift card makes it $0.57 OOP

This is my best trip so far. I still didn’t get all I hoped. There were no Purex laundry detergent left that would’ve been free with my coupon. They wouldn’t work with me on the character Band-Aids with the Aveeno/Listerine/Band-Aid $2off2 coupon which would’ve made those B1G1 Free. Also, our Walmart doesn’t have the Biore (I hear these go on sale at Walgreen’s next week) or Vaseline lotion trial sizes but all in all I think I did pretty good with almost 87% saved altogether. Great trip!

About CharityAnn

I'm a small town, stay at home mom living on a shoestring budget. I spend my time working as a ChaCha guide from home, searching out internet coupons and deals, and entering sweepstakes for fun prizes we couldn't normally afford. Through ChaCha, coupons, deals, and sweepstakes I have found a way to continue staying home with my kids while still affording the things we want. I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, but I hope to share my finds with local readers so that we may all enjoy what our small town has to offer without paying big city prices.

Posted on April 7, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

