My trip to Walgreen’s and CountryMart/Homeland on only $5

I still had my $6 off on your next order coupon from Country Mart and $5 in my pocket yesterday when I went into town and I managed to make it home with 2 bottles of Xtra with OxyClean laundry detergent, 2 Colgate 360 toothbrushes, 1 Colgate toothpaste, 2 bottles of nail polish, a $2 RR for my next Walgreen’s trip, and $1 left in my pocket! Before coupons I would have spent the $4 on just the one bottle of laundry detergent so I would say I did pretty awesome.

I still didn’t handle my transactions the way I had hoped. I should’ve made it home with 2 boxes of character Band-Aids as well for the same money spent but the coupon I had hoped to use wouldn’t scan for the items. I’m going to research it a bit before I return Wednesday because I think a penny overage was the culprit. I also found that it’s easier to hit the cosmetics counter at Walgreen’s when trying to use coupons. If you are buying any cosmetics, they actually make a commission at that register and will be eager to check you out. It had been suggested many times in my reading and it really is easier and allows you to move out of the way between transactions because couponers might have the time and patience but those in line behind us, often do not.

2 weeks ago I stocked up on household fragrance items, shaving cream, and razors. Last week and this week I’ve been stocking up on dental items and deodorant. I don’t have the room to go completely crazy on stockpiling but I had enough bare space that I’m grateful for finding such awesome deals the minute I began doing this. I’m finding it difficult to hunt down bargain Sunday papers on Mondays which is irksome but maybe I can find my fellow Crazy Couponers here in Lawton one day and work on that. I know they’re out there, one bought 15 toothbrushes the same morning I bought 4 and others help keep the sale item shelves clear.

About CharityAnn

I'm a small town, stay at home mom living on a shoestring budget. I spend my time working as a ChaCha guide from home, searching out internet coupons and deals, and entering sweepstakes for fun prizes we couldn't normally afford. Through ChaCha, coupons, deals, and sweepstakes I have found a way to continue staying home with my kids while still affording the things we want. I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, but I hope to share my finds with local readers so that we may all enjoy what our small town has to offer without paying big city prices.

Posted on April 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

