Patience is a Virtue…

Getting angry or upset about something isn’t going to solve it any faster nor will it make it easier. I’ve learned a lot more about this in the last year than I retained about patience my entire life.

In July I started doing ChaCha to make money from home. It was slow going at first and I nearly gave up but after a month of training, reading, and DOING I was getting quite good at it and even found a great way to make a few bucks here and there as needed. Patience is a virtue.

In November I started reading a Sweepstakes blog. I didn’t score any decent wins until December and even then I was given the name Toaster Strudel Queen because that’s all I seemed to be winning. But I kept at it and in March I won not one big prize but 2! Karate for my son and a treadmill. We received the treadmill 2 weeks ago and I had almost given in and sold it to a pawn shop for far less than it’s value when a military spouse contacted me and wanted to get this for her husband. A great deal for the both of us and now I have a trampoline for my kids to enjoy this summer. Patience is a virtue.

In February I started reading couponing blogs and right away I was overwhelmed. I didn’t have a printer, I don’t get the paper, and I’m scared of beeps at a checkout lane and rude cashiers. After a few attempts to try extreme couponing I’ve found that it’s not for me. But, I can still score some great deals for my home considering Charity Begins at Home. Have your coupons ready. Read the fine print. Pick a good cashier. But in the end nothing matters without patience. You’ll still take longer and have to hope your cashier is having a good day. Patience is a virtue.

Yesterday I started this blog and last night I had a bit of a break down about it. I don’t know enough yet. I’ve not written much for anyone outside of school or family. What if I get negative comments. But, I can’t learn without trying so here I am. It’s not the prettiest blog, nor the most informative. But, patience is a virtue and I’m willing to take the time to learn. Doctors don’t think they can perform surgery the first day of med school. So it’s no shocker that I have no clue how to do this. But I’m willing to learn and if you’ll bear with me I’m also willing to teach you how I did it. I never thought I would find a way to stay home with my kids and not be stressed constantly about money. There’s still stress and I’m still trying to work on balancing my time better but again, patience is a virtue. Nothing worth having, happens overnight.

Of course none of this would be possible without my loving other half. The Man in the Cowboy Hat keeps me going and reminds me everyday that our kids are a gift and we should act blessed instead of doomed, as my pessimistic self is prone to do at times.

About CharityAnn

I'm a small town, stay at home mom living on a shoestring budget. I spend my time working as a ChaCha guide from home, searching out internet coupons and deals, and entering sweepstakes for fun prizes we couldn't normally afford. Through ChaCha, coupons, deals, and sweepstakes I have found a way to continue staying home with my kids while still affording the things we want. I'm still learning what works and what doesn't, but I hope to share my finds with local readers so that we may all enjoy what our small town has to offer without paying big city prices.

Posted on March 29, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi!

    I just wanted to say thank you for all the help in Walgreens today! I know that I will be a frequent visitor to the site, and any tips/advice you give here, especially for the Lawton area, will be greatly appreciated.

    I think you’re doing a great job so far!

    (Though, if you’re nervous about writing, I might actually be able to be of help. I teach English comp at Cameron; it pays the bills 😉

    • Thanks Elizabeth! It was great to meet you and I had fun helping. Let me know if there is anything else I can help with and feel free to comment anytime. I won’t be able to try every deal myself so if you find a deal or one that doesn’t work as I posted, let me know. Thanks for checking this out!

Leave a Reply

